left or right?

A new interest of mine is the difference between right-brained and left-brained people.  I always thought of myself as a logical and rational person, after all, my first career was in banking and my longest career to date was in bookkeeping.  I knew that I had creative tendencies in that I would like to do an occasional craft project here or there, but for the most part, I believed that I was not very artistic or original.

I did some research on the qualities of right and left brained people and this is what I found:

Right-brained people are described as random, intuitive, holistic, synthesizing, subjective, and look at things as wholes. Left-brainers are logical, sequential, rational, analytical, objective, and look at things in parts.  When I took an on-line quiz to determine which one I was, the results were approximately 60% right and 40% left.

Truth is, no one is either right or left.  We are each a bit of both with one side being more dominant than the other.  That explains why I can be so good at numbers (banking/bookkeeping) and still be a creative person.  I used to think that being creative meant that a person was artistic, but now I know that creativity is more than that.  It is more about how a person thinks, not so much what they can produce.

After learning the true definition of creativity, I looked back through my life and found that much of who I am fits that definition.  I have a unique way of looking at the world and can see many different sides of the same story.  I raised my children holistically and creatively, allowing them to always be who they were.  The objective writing style that I must use at work does not come easy to me,  I have always written subjectively, from my perspective.  I can see the big picture and often think “outside the box”.  Traditional routes have never suited me.  All of these things describe a right-brained, creative person.  They describe me.

Try the quiz for yourself at http://www.intelliscript.net/test_area/questionnaire/questionnaire.cgi

Are you surprised by the answer?  The quiz helped me to understand so much more about myself.  I hope you can learn something, too.  Knowing and understanding ourselves more fully can only lead us to living a more fulfilling life.  I believe we are here to live up to our greatest potential on this earth using all the gifts we have been given.  What is your greatest potential?

Yours in creativity,

Wordlywoman

Leave a Reply

