the end

Today I am going to talk about things ending.  The End.  That’s it.  It’s over.  There’s no more.

The End could be about anything.  The end of an era, a relationship, a book, a road, a thought, a life, a movie, a year, etc…  Each time an ending occurs, it has a different feeling.  Not all endings are sad, some can even be happy.  Think about the coming to the end of a huge project that took months to complete.  That ending is something worth celebrating.  When I was in the theater, the end of the production felt both happy and sad.  It was happy in that we pulled off a great show, but sad that all the fun practicing and hanging out together as a cast was over.

While watching my friend go through the process of ending a marriage, I am taken back to the time when I was ending my 21 year relationship.  The End was full of unknowns.  I had no idea what life looked like after The End.  I had no information on which I could draw.  I was starting over.  I began to see The End as an exciting beginning for me. I visualized all the unknowns as a giant white board in front of me.  I realized that I could draw any picture I wanted on it.  I could create a new design for my life after The End had occurred.

I know we have all heard the saying, “When one door closes, another one opens.”  In other words, when one thing ends, another thing begins.  All beginnings have endings and all endings lead to the beginning of something else.  In fact, nothing is forever.  Everything in your life will end at some point.  Sounds harsh doesn’t it, but it’s true.  I think that it is our level of attachment to things that determines how we will feel when things end.  When we allow something to become that which defines us, we feel lost when The End arrives.  We have to go through the grieving process in order to move on and that’s okay.  Even grieving has a beginning and an ending.

So I will begin this new year thinking about endings.  Will I choose to end something in my life to clear space for something new to begin?  I hope that everyone looking at The End of something will hold onto the thought that something will begin for them in the near future.  Get your markers out and begin to draw your new life’s picture.  Create what you want for you.  Begin at The End.

Yours in transformation,

Wordlywoman

Leave a Reply

