just do it!

No, this is not about Nike.  It’s about motivation.  Saying those three simple words really helps to motivate me when I am struggling to accomplish something for which I have no energy or I find challenging in some way.  Writing my blog this week fits into that latter category.  Even though I love writing and look forward to doing it most days, there are times when it can be a struggle.  Once the struggle begins, I then become susceptible to distractions.

My process goes like this.  I start thinking about what I will write early in the week, soon after I successfully post my article on Sunday.  I watch and listen throughout the week for a topic that interests me to present itself.  On some weeks, a topic surfaces right away, I quickly and easily write about it, and then hit the publish key.  Other weeks, like this one, I struggle to connect to any particular topic or interest.  When that happens, I have a difficult time getting myself to sit down and focus. My mind begins to wander and nothing gets done.  I decided to look at the situation from a different perspective.  Why not write about my struggles this week?  I sat down to begin my article on how to get motivated and then the distractions set in.  The following is a picture of what this looks like for me:

I sit down with my laptop, choose a title, and write a few sentences.  After that, I check my email (many times), research the topic on-line, find myself on many different sites learning new things, go back to the writing, write a few lines, think of a question, go back on-line, look at the latest headlines, get hungry, go into the kitchen, get something to eat, take the dogs out, straighten up the kitchen, clean some other part of the house, sit back down, watch television…

All of that usually adds up to the end of writing for that day.  The next day I may go back to the task but then find myself spending more time learning about what I want to write rather than actually writing it.  To be honest, when writing doesn’t come easily to me, I would rather scrub the toilet or do any other unpleasant task just to escape the agony.  At least then I’m doing something that will leave me with a sense of accomplishment.

So – what do I do when motivation becomes a problem and procrastination sets in?  I tell myself to just do it!  I stop listening to all the excuses and “reasons” in my head that keep me from getting the job done and get tough with myself.  Enough is enough!  No more excuses!  While I always have a choice, I know I will never move forward if I always choose to take the easy way out.  Yes, doing the work is difficult.  It will take time and energy, but the payoff is great.  Getting it done is the action needed to bring me closer to reaching my goals.

While doing some research on-line, i.e., procrastinating, I ran across a website called Motivation123.com.  I looked at the blog section of the site and found an article titled, “7 Life-Changing Decisions You Can Make Today.”  What I took away from this article is that no one is going to do your work or live your life for you.  It’s up to you to make the choice to take charge and get moving on the things that you want to do.  The site is full of motivating articles, quotes, and other information.  I recommend it to anyone who needs a little inspiration in order to get moving.  Here are a couple of quotes that helped me through this week’s writing.

“The only way to get where you want to be is to do what needs to be done to get there.” Iyanla Vanzant

“Take time to deliberate; but when the time for action arrives, stop thinking and go in.”  Andrew Jackson

The next time you are struggling to get something done, think of those three simple words – just do it.  That’s really all there is to it.  Once the task is completed you will feel a sense of accomplishment and well-being.  When you are holding off on getting something done, ask yourself, “What am I waiting for?”

Yours in transformation,

Wordlywoman

Leave a Reply

