mother’s day tribute

I’d like to take this opportunity on this Mother’s Day to write a few words to the very important Mom’s in my life.

Mom, I admire your calm and patient approach to life and your ability to keep things simple.  I am grateful to you for making me feel at ease during the most challenging times in my life.  You wisely give support without trying to fix.  You always seem to approach life in a relaxed manner and are able to put a lighter spin on things.  You see the positive in life.  What I think about most when I think of you is your sense of humor.  You can always make me laugh.  When I was young and feeling upset, I remember you would do something silly like play that crazy song on the piano.  It would brighten the moment and help me feel better. You possess a common sense wisdom and are able to break things down to a more simple to understand place.  Your creative spirit shows itself well in your home and garden.  I love the beauty you have created there and I have learned so much from you in how to create a beautiful home for myself.

Thank you, Mom, for always being there to guide me.  Thank you for your calmness, patience, wisdom, and love.  Thank you for your sense of humor and lightness.   Thank you for allowing me the freedom to learn and grow.   Thank you for being a wonderful grandmother to my children.  I love the way that you support and love them.  They and I are lucky to have you in our lives.

The other Mom I’d like to thank today is my mother-in-law.  Words cannot express deeply enough how much I appreciate and love you.  Since the day I became part of your family I have felt supported by you in every way.  Your amazing strength and energy has helped me through many times in my life when I was feeling low.  You make me laugh and teach me about acceptance.  I remember when we first met how I was impressed by your ability to be real.  You tell things like they are and speak directly about any subject.  I so love that about you.  Your candor is real and yet always respectful.  I am so blessed to be a part of your extended family and I couldn’t ask for a better grandmother to my children.  There were times when I felt that you were being as much of a mom to them as I was and I was grateful for that.  Raising three children is a daunting task and I couldn’t have done it without your support.

Thank you, Cookie, for being in my life.  I am honored to say that you are my friend and while we don’t see each other as often as we used to, you are still always in my heart.  I look forward to having you in my life for many years to come.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Wordlywoman

Leave a Reply

