on purpose

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been searching for an answer to the question, “What is my purpose on this earth?”  Each time I think I’m going in the right direction, I become disillusioned in some way and decide that I’m not quite there yet.  I wonder what it will take to find the answer and what it will look like when I do finally figure it out.  Perhaps it will be something like what T.S.Eliot describes in the quote, “We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.”   I’m beginning to suspect it will be something of a quietly learned self-knowledge versus some earth shattering epiphany about the world.

To me, living on purpose describes someone who is passionate about doing something they love, not necessarily the thing they do to make a living, but I imagine it is nice if you can have it be about both.  Author Matthew Fox say in his book, The Reinvention of Work that, “Work comes from inside out; work is the expression of our soul, our inner being.  It is unique to the individual; it is creative.  Work is an expression of the Spirit at work in the world through us.”  This sentiment is also expressed by Deepak Chopra in The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success.  He writes this about the “Law of “Dharma” or Purpose in Life“, “According to this law, you have a unique talent and a unique way of expressing it.  There is something that you can do better than anyone else in the world – and for every unique talent and unique expression of that talent, there are also unique needs.”

I had an opportunity this week to attend a women’s networking group presented by our local Chamber of Commerce.  Each of us was there to connect with others who are also exploring their unique expression of their talents.  Many women were entrepreneurs looking to make their talents known.  Some were there to represent the company for whom they work to help grow their business.  As I looked around the room, I saw other women who were trying to do exactly what I was, talk to others about their passion, talents, and products.  I went with my friend and heard her struggling with her feelings about her passion.  She felt that there were too many others who did what she did and could not see what made her any different from them.  .

I know how she feels.  I felt the same way about myself, but after reading Deepak Chopra, I see that this is not true.  Her talent is unique and what she creates is meant for those who have a unique need.  The same is true for me.  Yes, there are many other life coaches in the world, but only one me.  Only one with my life’s experiences, my wisdom, my talent, and I will serve those who have a unique need for all that.  I hope that my friend will come to see that someday for herself.

All this reminds me of how Dorothy, in the Wizard of Oz, came to the conclusion that she had the ability to go home anytime she wanted.  She just had to believe in it.  We all need to believe in our innate talents and special gifts.  It is then we will begin to feel on purpose and at home in our lives.  Knowing what we have to give and then giving it will be the answer to fulfilling that purpose. What unique talents and gifts do you possess?  In what ways you can use those gifts to be of service to others?  By combining the two, you will have the perfect recipe for living your life on purpose.

Yours in transformation,

Wordlywoman     

Leave a Reply

