give a little

I had the pleasure of meeting a fellow blogger recently and was fascinated to learn that she devoted her Friday posts to the subject of philanthropy and highlights those who are giving back in some way.  While talking with her at the networking event, I shared some information about an upcoming fundraising event on which I was working.  She emailed me the next week and asked if I would be interested in an interview to discuss my connection to the cause.  I agreed and I’d like to share with you the article that she wrote.

 http://anotherjennifer.com/philanthropy-friday-raising-awareness-and-funds-for-alzheimers-disease/

My first volunteer assignment was in high school.  I was required to give some time to help at an agency that served children with special needs.  I don’t remember much about what I did (that was a few years ago) but it served as a catalyst for developing a volunteer mindset.  Most of my life I’ve been volunteering my time and energy in one way or another, some of it formally and some of it informally.  I’ve always enjoyed volunteering and felt that if I were rich, I would quit working for money and spend my time volunteering.

One of the great things about giving your time is that you can learn a lot about yourself.  Many of the skills I possess today were learned while working in a volunteer capacity.  It’s also a great way to explore working with different populations.  Volunteering gives you an opportunity to learn more about yourself, your strengths, your talents, and where your passions may lie.  The commitment can be either long or short term and if it the fit isn’t right for you, you can go on to explore something else. I often recommend volunteering to people when they are having a difficult time choosing a career path.  It’s a great way to try things on without making a large financial or time commitment.

The best thing about doing volunteer work is that you can spend your time making someone else’s life a little better.  There’s something wonderful about giving to others with no expectation of anything in return.  It just feels good.

I’d like to thank Jennifer Barbour for doing such great work and giving credit to all those who serve the needs of others in so many ways.

Yours in giving,

Wordlywoman

One thought on “give a little

  1. My pleasure! I started blogging about the concept of philanthropy and what it really means. Then, I started the Philanthropy Friday series as a way to inspire others to give. Many people think it’s all about money, but it isn’t. There are so many simple ways to give back. Thanks for your work!

Leave a Reply

