royal treatment

Prelude

It is a beautiful October morning and the sun is rising over the field across the street from my house.  The sky is tinted with red and gray.  The early morning sun is one I rarely see as I like to sleep in until it is fully present in the sky.  Seeing the first sun of the day is a treat, a great beginning to a journey that starts today.  It is a journey on which I will feel like a queen thanks to my best friend, Springy.  In the interest of promoting good self-care to all, I will share our journey with you.  Breaking away from routine is just one way to combat burnout, relieve stress, and re-connect with your self.  It is so easy to get caught up in the day-to-day happenings of our lives.  We get up and go to work each day.  We look forward to our days off.  We keep ourselves busy with tasks.  We are become distracted and disconnected.  This weekend trip is about none of that.  It is about letting go.  It is about changing the view.  It is about having fun.  Now, sit back and join me on my journey.

Day One – Road Trip

7:30 a.m. – Springy wants to leave early today, but I need time to sit and collect myself.  I always need that time in the morning.  I’ll enjoy a leisurely cup of coffee, read the news, then pull myself together and wait for her arrival.

5:30 p.m. –  The trip down was accompanied by lots of rain but that didn’t dampen our spirits.  After packing my things into the car this morning, I climbed into the driver’s seat.  I agreed to drive as I enjoy it and it gave Springy a chance to unwind and enjoy her first journey to Cape Cod.   When we pulled out onto the first highway, I cranked up the volume on the radio, hit the gas, and we rocked out to Born to be Wild by Steppenwolf.  It felt so good to be free from my daily routine.  I need this vacation and so does Springy.

We arrived on the Cape around 2:30 and the first order of business was a bathroom and place to eat.  We quickly found the Mattakeese Wharf Restaurant.  They had a pretty funny sign that said, “Mattakeese Wharf.  Food and drink for man and hors and transient seamen.”  I had the most amazing Carrot/Ginger soup while Springy went with the old standby, the fried fish sandwich and fries.  She said it was the best fish sandwich she’s had yet, and believe me, she’s had many.  I would’ve joined her but I’ve sworn off fried foods.  Our waitress Patty was great and even offered to help us get the chef’s recipe for their delicious soup.  Thanks, Patty!

9:00 p.m. –  After lunch we arrived at our hotel which is right on a beach.  We are staying at the Red Jacket Beach Resort on the Cape in Yarmouth.  It is very cold and windy so we decided to step into the hot tub for a while before our evening massages.  It felt so good to be released from the confines of the car.  We each had a one hour massage then headed off to a local pub for a nice light dinner.  Now, it’s off to sleep.  I am looking forward to tomorrow’s adventures.

Day Two – Exploration

9:09 a.m. –  I slept very well last night but woke up a little sore from my massage.  I am surprised by how quiet the ocean is on Nantucket Sound.  I was expecting pounding surf but it is calm and serene.  Although I miss the sound of the waves, I am enjoying the quiet.  It is just what I need.  Springy and I went to the Route 28 Diner this morning, had a nice breakfast and lots of coffee.  The sun is shining and the sky couldn’t be clearer, a much welcome sight after the many days of rain we’ve had.  Right now, I’m sitting in the sun on the balcony of our room in a comfy lounge chair.  Despite the sounds of the soft wind, other people talking, and the seagulls crying, it is remarkably peaceful here.  The energy is calm and I am soaking it in.  So much of my days are spent in noise.  I have become more aware of it and my need to remove myself from it.  I seek out places to be in silence, even if only for short periods of time.  Last week, I sat in an empty office with the door closed for my half hour lunch and listened to the silence.  It allows me time to connect with what is real.    How many times a week do you stop and really connect with yourself?  I hear so many people say that they hate to be alone and will go to lengths to avoid any time to themselves.  I think some of us find it easier than others, it may be the difference between being and introvert or extrovert, but I think it is something everyone could benefit from.  Try setting aside some time this week to practice sitting with yourself.  Notice how it feels to you.  Is it comfortable or foreign?  Make a commitment to practice small amounts each week.  Over time, I think you will come to appreciate all that it offers to you.  You will hear your inner voice and gain a sense of clarity that you never knew existed underneath the surface.  I will leave you now with a picture of the beach where I spent the morning in the warm autumn sun.

8:00 p.m. –  Phew!  I’m glad to be back at the hotel after travelling all day.  After getting an amazing facial and paraffin foot treatment this morning, Springy and I headed west to make our way to Provincetown to check out the sights and shops at the very end of the Cape.  It was a long ride mostly due to the Oyster Festival in Wellfleet which caused us to sit in bumper to bumper traffic both coming and going from P-Town.  When we arrived back in Yarmouth, we stopped for some takeout and headed back to our hotel.  Tonight I will watch a little television to relax and go to sleep early.  I have no idea what we are doing tomorrow.  We left that up in the air.  The beauty of this vacation is that we are just going with the flow.  We decided to make choices in the moment about what we want to do and not stress about too much of anything.  It’s nice to have a friend who is so easy to travel and get along with.

Day Three – Heading Home

7:35 p.m. –  Today ended up being mostly a travel back home day.  I did not sleep well last night.  I was still very sore from my massage.  It surprises me how much it affected me.  I used to have regular massages and would experience soreness from time to time, but it’s been a while so my muscles are not used to it.  When I woke up this morning and looked out the window, it was gray and very windy outside.  What amazed me was that there were still no visible waves on the sound.  I’ve never seen the ocean without waves.   It wasn’t raining at first, but that started quickly after we hit the road.  After several missed attempts to get back onto the highway home despite using a GPS, we finally hit the ground running and headed straight back home to Maine.  At first we had thoughts of stopping to shop at a couple of different places but we were both eager to get home and made the trip non-stop.

I profess I am not much of a traveler.  While I enjoy short trips on occasion, I mostly like staying close to home.  It is where I feel at peace but I know it is also good for me to stretch myself.  I have wanted to travel to Cape Cod for many years now.  I spent some time there when I was younger and enjoyed the feel of it.  There was something special about returning to the state where I grew up.  I am surprised how happy it made me feel. and I look forward to going back again in the future.

I want to thank my best friend, Springy, for including me in her plans for this weekend.  She presented me with this wonderful gift of a mini-vacation and I truly felt like a queen.  Everyone deserves the royal treatment on occasion.  I am happy to say that this weekend it was my turn.

Royally yours,

Wordlywoman

Leave a Reply

