walking the talk

walking the talkWith each New Year many people like to make resolutions or set goals they would like to accomplish.  Resolutions are when you resolve to make a change to a habit or pattern in your life, i.e. I resolve to eat better this year.  Goals are measurable and have an end.  Last year, I set some goals at the beginning of the year and set others as the year went by.  I recently took a look at those goals and evaluated myself on how I did.  I gave myself an A+ with one and with another, I earned an incomplete.  That’s okay with me.  I don’t beat myself up about things.  What I need to do is take an honest look at what is keeping me from accomplishing that goal.  We can always learn a lot from the things that we don’t do as much as with the ones we do.

Last February, I went to see my physician and she called me on my excuses for not losing weight.  It occurred to me at that time that I was not walking the talk.  I was saying that I needed to lose the weight and was doing nothing to support that.  Once I realized that I wasn’t do what I said I would, I got to work.  That night, I signed up for an on-line weight loss plan and set a goal and committed to trying it for 3 months.  At that time, I was doing so well that I committed to staying on the plan until I lost all the weight I wanted.  With that goal accomplished, I have set a new one to learn to maintain the weight on the program for one year, and then I will set a new goal to manage my weight with what I have learned.  Setting goals in a series of steps helps me to stay focused and interested.  It also keeps me from feeling overwhelmed.

During a conversation in the office today, my co-workers were asking me about the plan I used.  They were complaining that they were uncomfortable with their bodies and were saying that they wanted to lose weight.  I explained to them that I was able to achieve my weight loss through 10 months of hard work.  I started a plan, stuck to it, set small goals, and got great results.  Was it easy?  No.  Did I have to make some major changes in how I did things?  Absolutely.  Losing the weight didn’t just happen for me.  I worked at it.

The difference between someone who has lost weight and someone who hasn’t is that the one who did was willing to do the work.  They were willing to make changes, to work hard and see it through to completion.  Many years ago I read a book by Dr. Phil in which he stated that the reason someone is overweight is because they eat foods that support that.  (This does not include those who have health problems that affect their ability to lose weight.)  I was overweight because I made food choices that made me that way.  I ate fried foods, sugary foods, junk foods, fatty foods, and I was fat.  You are what you eat, right?  My weight loss plan taught me how to eat in a way that would support my health.  Not only was I eating the wrong foods, I was eating too many servings.  I remember being shocked when I learned what a single serving looked like.  I was eating 2 or more servings sometimes and that went on for years.  No wonder I was overweight.

I would like to say to everyone who looks at me and thinks that this happened overnight, it didn’t.  I earned every lost pound through hard work, perseverance, and through loving myself enough to feel I deserved it.  If you want to lose weight then you need to make it happen.  No one else will do it for you.  No one will give you a magic wand so you can wave the weight away.  Without the desire to change and the self-love to drive the desire, it will become a goal that remains out of reach.  When you truly love yourself and know that you deserve to be healthy and happy, you will begin to make choices that reflect that love.  I can honestly say that I felt that way before I made the commitment to lose the weight.  I could look at myself in the mirror, 60 pounds heavier, and say that I liked who I am.

Do you love yourself enough to give yourself the gift of health?  What needs to change so that you can get there?  What holds you back?

It’s time to walk the talk.  If you are saying that you want to lose weight, then set a goal and make a plan to work on it.  You can start by telling yourself that you are wonderful no matter what shape you are in, that you are worth the time and effort.  Do things that support good self-care and self-respect.  Listen to what you are telling yourself and find a way to turn any negative self-talk around.  You are in charge of making these changes.  No one else can do it for you.  What’s it going to take to get you to walk the talk?

Yours in transformation,

Wordlywoman

Leave a Reply

